Hi y’all! It feel so good to be back in the studio at Scandle. The vibe is always different, but the energy is constantly good.

This week opens up with “Part II”, of off the newest lp from long-time collaborators and Los Angeles alternative music scene legends Carlos Niño and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. Chicago Waves was created while the LA pair was visiting the windy city. The occasion for the good people at International Anthem to record a strong session and share it with us lucky listeners.

“Mare Undarum II” is the first extract of off Selene Saint-Aime‘s highly anticipated first album. A late bloomer, the Paris based composer started playing double bass at 17 and developed at a rapid pace, learning jazz alongside icons like Steve Coleman or Ron Carter. While her voice appeals to Africa and jazz music where she gets a big part of her inspiration, the subtle cello and violin arrangements evoke chamber music, creating a genuine mix. Looking forward to catch her at le festival Jazz à la Villette.

Shouts out to the beautiful brothers from the Black Art Jazz Collective, as well as Otis Sandsjö teasing his next release on Helsinki’s label We Jazz Records and more…

Tracklist : 

  1. Part II –Carlos Niño & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson
  2. Never Again (Maralisa Interlude) Ft. Maralisa – Ego Ella May
  3. Art Of The Warrior Ft. Kamasi Washington – Throbble Elevator Music
  4. Permafrost – Daniel Herskerdal
  5. 19 – Derrick Hodge
  6. On The Other Side – Marcin Trio & Joe Lovano
  7. First Class – Khruangbin
  8. New Humanity – Los Retros
  9. Ojors de Rojos – Jazzagenturen
  10. Desafinado (Live in Berlin / 2018) – Chick Corea
  11. Orgone – Jyoti, Georgia Anne Muldron
  12. Scintillate – Daniel Carter, Matthew Shipp, William Parker & Gerald Cleaver
  13. Chrysalis – Ruby Rushton
  14. Mare Undarum Part II – Selene Saint-Aimé
  15. Cosmic Visitant – Nat Birchal
  16. My Greatest Joy Is Everything – Jeremy Cunningham & Dustin Laurenzi
  17. So Young – Angela Muñoz & Adrian Younge
  18. Abysmal Ft. Petter Eldh, Dan Nicholls & Tilo Webber –  Otis Sandjsö
  19. For The Kids – Black Art Jazz Collective
  20. In The Spirit Ft. David Murray – Kahil El’Zabar
  21. I Won’t Cry – Natalie Slade
  22. Bubble Under – Anteloper
  23. Earthrise – Jerk
  24. Impatience – Alexander Flood
  25. Meow Meow – Ebi Soda

Click the cover artwork to listen to the playlist and most of these releases are up on Bandcamp so make sure to support these artists on that platform.

Subscribe on your TidalApple Music, Spotify, Deezer, YouTube Music etc …  to make sure to catch the vibe next time it comes around.

Peace & Light.