Happy New Year everyone! 2020, we’re here. I wish your vision to be clear.

The year 2019 has been my transition year. I’ve let myself experiment with different things. Wether it was doing the podcast, playing shows with my cuz Sabrina Bellaouel, partaking in La Phonkerie Collective, DJing here and there or putting together this show. I feel like I’ve grown creatively. I’ve also learned that to really be efficient at whatever I put my mind into, choices have to be made. So yeah, 2020 is the year of choosing and renouncing. And the first choice that I’ve made is to focus on my one true love, Jazz music.

If you’ve listened to this show before, you know it’s all about blending different types of grooves. I am very satisfied with what I’ve achieved so far. It’s always a highlight to perfectly blend some UK Drill with some Neo Soul haha .. With that said, Jazz music is so alive today and I really want to contribute to the current wellbeing of this immortal genre. So yeah, I’m taking a break from mixing different flavors of groove and I can’t wait to futher explore the multitude of nuances that Jazz Cats of today and tomorrow have to offer .. so stay tuned. 

But I still have a little bit of everything to share on this show tho .. starting with a Christmas offering from MENACE Records releasing the second track off of Underground Canopy‘s upcoming debut project. On “UC Visions”, the Paris based band flows for over 10 minutes of improvised smoothness produced by Bluestaeb & S.Fidelity. Detroit rapper Boldy James teams up with LA producer extraordinaire Alchemist for Boldface – EP. “Method to My Madness” finds Boldy James’ nonchalant yet sharp delivery over a menacing beat featuring unusual trap-ish drums from Al. As promised when his 9th album came out back in late october, Kanye West has released the first album from his Sunday Service Choir. Expect some uplifting and powerful gospel music just like “Souls Anchored” which give a new spin to Ginuwine‘s classic “So Anxious”.

A lot of dope tracks this week, so get into it. If you like it, let me know, send me a DM. Also, make sure to support the artist that you find in the mix by streaming and buying their music. 

Tracklist : 

  1. Soldiers (I Have A Dream) – Christian McBride
  2. UC Visions – Underground Canopy x Bluestaeb x S. Fidelity
  3. If Only Ft. Ruby Wood – Nubiyan Twist
  4. No Denying – J Hus
  5. Jumpin – Fivio Foreign
  6. Vroom – Blasé x Jwles x Le Lij
  8. Ava – Pip Millett
  9. Tikbalang – Free The Robots
  10. Souls Anchored – Sunday Service Choir
  11. All Me Ft. Keyshia Cole – Kehlani
  12. Zebulon – Makala
  13. U Ain’t Bout That Life – DJ Spinn
  14. GAWD WHY Ft. Milkavelli & BeTheGun – Lee Scott
  15. The Sky Sings Ft. Layla Moallem, Jasmin Moallem & Kerendun – Sefi Zisling
  16. Down On Me – Sudan Archives
  17. Intimidated Ft. Rapsody & Lalah Hathaway – Terrace Martin
  18. nuevo roquero estéro – Jaimie Branch
  19. Method To My Madness – Boldy James x Alchemist

Click the cover artwork to listen to the playlist and If you are in you are on the treadmill burning them calories, know that I feel you. 

Subscribe on your TidalApple Music, Spotify, Deezer, YouTube Music etc …  to make sure to catch the vibe next time it comes around.

Peace & Light.